Eyebrows

They are supposed to be a part of your face, a natural thing. Yet it’s a constant struggle to maintain them or find the “right” ones for you. I’m choosing to start off with eyebrows. Why? Lately eyebrows are everywhere! They are coming up as important  or equally important as the makeup you wear. It makes sense, with your eyebrows out of whack you’ll ruin any sort of makeup look you had going. You can get away with so much more with decent eyebrows.

What shape should I choose? That’s the thing. They shouldn’t really be a shape. They aren’t supposed to be shapes. In a best case scenario they should compliment your eyes, face shape and go mostly undetectable by the average person. You shouldn’t have to struggle for them to keep a certain shape. For a while I would look at other people’s eyebrows, if I liked how they had theirs I would try to recreate it. The problem is unless you have a similar eye shape or face it probably won’t look anything alike. The solution is to go with your face, with your eyes and realize that will look best on you.

Wax, thread or pluck? That’s kind of a personal preference. None of them are pleasant, waxing is the most painful I would say.  I think it’s definitely a safer option to pluck them yourself or get them threaded, since it’s less hair being taken out at one time, especially if you’ve never done anything to them before, it’ll be less extreme. Most people do a combination. In between getting them waxed or threaded you will most likely need to clean up anything that comes along, depending of course how often you go.

Why do so many people fill them in? Some people are born with really, really great eyebrows. There aren’t any gaps, they are symmetrical, and in general just grow the way they are supposed to. However, for a lot of people that’s not the case. Even if you think you don’t need to fill them in, give it a try once. I’d highly recommend it. Filling in your eyebrows will give you a more even look.  There’s definitely a trend of thicker eyebrows, if your eyebrows are on the thinner side and you’d like to give them a fuller look this is ideal for you (just don’t overdo it) When wearing makeup it’s nice to pair it with filling in your eyebrows. It’s kind of like adding liquid eyeliner on your top lid, it’s not necessary, but it looks nice and ties a look together.

Color If you’re going to go wrong, that’s one place it’s pretty easy to make a mistake. In general the rule is: for dark hair you should one to two shades lighter than your natural hair color and for light hair, one to two shades darker than your natural hair color. Sounds easy, but my in my experience the biggest issue has been the tone of the color. I have blonde hair, I picked up an eyebrow pencil that was about two shades darker than my hair color. I thought I was good to go. It had this reddish tone that really clashed and was too dark for my face. The rules are there, but bend them to what you need them to be. I now use an ash blonde eyebrow pencil that’s very close to my actual hair color.

Eyebrows are part of your makeup routine, so remember like with all makeup you can be creative with it, tailor it to you and what you like. photo (4)

7 thoughts on “Eyebrows

  1. I’ve been obsessed with eyebrows since I was 12 years old and have probably gone through more eyebrow styles than most people go through hairstyles in their entire life. My sister got the thick, beautifully sculpted, perfectly arched and dark eyebrows while I was left with the shapeless, almost blonde brows. Sigh. Such is life. But on the bright side I am a pro at eyebrows now so I’ve got that going for me.

    Like

Leave a Reply

