Review: Hourglass Femme Rouge Velvet Creme Lipstick

Soft, moisturizing, smooth, and I’m almost out. 

A few months ago I found the Femme Rouge Velvet Creme Lipstick in Fawn. Since then I’ve worn it through different seasons and occasions. I still haven’t gotten tired of how it goes on. It’s the only lipstick I have that I can say with 100% certainty that you don’t need to moisturize your lips beforehand. In fact, were you to do that it wouldn’t go on as well. It would smear. It is that moisturizing. It is silky, not sticky. You still wouldn’t mistake it for a gloss.

With the particular color I have I will say that one to two coats doesn’t look any different than 8 or 9. You can swipe it on back and forth and it doesn’t get any different looking, you’ll just have more lipstick on your lips. Is that a bad thing? Depends on what you’re looking for. Generally I like lipsticks to be buildable with the color, but for this one I don’t mind. You could look at it as a positive that you can get the same effect with one coat as you might with a couple with other lipsticks.

Whoever designed the packaging did something pretty interesting. The tube pretty much mirrors the texture of the lipstick. It’s extremely smooth and has a sleek appearance. You can get an idea of what the lipstick is like without opening the tube. Good job on their part!

Hourglass-Extreme-Sheen-Lip-Gloss-Origami-Lush-3

Looking for something to pair it with? I would highly recommend using one of the Extreme Sheen High Shine Lip Glosses, also from Hourglass. I have a tube in the color Lush. It’s a coral that leans more to the orange side of coral with gold shimmer. It goes great with Fawn or even over a red lipstick. It has a really nice light vanilla smell, similar to the lipstick it’s very moisturizing and smooth. The applicator is shaped like a flattened out and lengthened Q-tip. It has nice edges to get around your lips. The feel of the lipgloss and smell reminds me a bit of a Nars lipgloss in a similar color I had in 2009, but I like this one better.

I can safely buy the next Femme Rouge Velvet Creme Lipstick knowing I’ll be just as satisfied.

Leave a Reply

