Angular Cheilitis

One of the most frustrating things I’ve experienced has been put to an end.

I would get it off and on for a few years. It started when I had braces, which is apparently very common because of the increase of saliva. Little cracks would appear at the corners of my mouth either accompanied by raised bumps that looked like extensions of my lip. I would get it usually on one side of my lips, but sometimes both. I can’t say that it is something I’d only get in the wintertime (even though it’s reported most common during winter) because I’d get it in all seasons. I didn’t give a whole lot of thought to it, I just thought it was chapped or irritated or something. Not that it wasn’t true, they were both chapped and irritated, but what also can happen is a growth of fungus or bacteria causing it. It wouldn’t last 2 or three days either, it would be weeks at a time. If you’ve ever had this you know how confusing it can be deciding what to do with this. Moisturizing with chapstick only seems to make it worse and leaving it dry is almost asking the skin to crack again.

Angular chellitis 3

This time around I decided to take action. I had used a lipstick that dried my lips out pretty good and as a result I believe that was the start of this round of it. I had been patient and waiting and waiting and waiting to see what happens with it. It wasn’t going anywhere. By the way incase you were wondering there is no way you are covering this up with makeup, be it lipstick, lipgloss, concealer or otherwise. It’s not happening. There’s no camouflaging it and during the process of trying it’s sure to sting. I went to the internet to find a cure. Of course I looked for natural approaches first, luckily the one of the last remedies only requires Palmolive dish soap and water. To say I had to do digging on the internet to come across something that works is an understatement. I came across a lot of forums filled with people looking for something that actually worked. They had done their share of experiments as well. Once you’ve gotten the hang of this it’s a pretty simple recipe for success with this.

Here it goes:

Gently clean off your mouth, paying close attention to the corners. Dry off. Take a small amount of Palmolive Dishsoap and cover the inflamed area. Leave on for 10-15 minutes. During this time you may experience some burning or stinging. Nothing too crazy, besides it’s nice to know that the Palmolive is drying out and killing and fungus or bacteria that is causing this in the first place. After that wash off with warm water and pat dry. Make sure to cover the entire area in Vaseline as to create a seal. They recommend to repeat once more 2 hours later. *Make sure the Palmolive is the Original, the other overly scented types will irritate you further. 

palmolive

Immediately after doing this I saw a difference. If this is something you’ve been dealing with, try this method and you’ll be able to say goodbye to your Angular Cheilitis.

Leave a Reply

