Review: Josie Maran Argan Illuminizer

As I almost finish this product I’d say I’ve given it a fair chance to show me what it can do.

I love the claims that go along with all Josie Maran products, but this one left me disappointed. Initially I loved it. There are still things that I love about it. I think the color is great. It’s not as harsh as High Beam, I think the warmth and gold that this illuminizer gives off is terrific.

As time went on I noticed it really brought out the pores on my face and definitely attributed to some breakouts. From a distance it will catch your eye, you’ll look radiant and nicely highlighted. Up close it’ll catch your eye, but for a different reason. Bumps and areas of dry skin or pores that aren’t perfect will look like they are poking higher than the level of the rest of your skin. So not only did it look like it was blocking my pores and suffocating my skin, it actually was. That night or the next day I’d have small pimples all along where I put the illuminizer.

Could it be too heavy for my skin? Yes. Could it work for others? Yes. I think the thing with this product is that it’s not good for everyone and for me that’s a downside. I like things I can use on anyone and not worry. I won’t go as far to say that it’s bad or that it’s a bad formulation, but there are definitely people that it won’t do favors for. I think more mature skin will benefit from this. I can’t even say dry skin will work with this, because I think dry patches stand out even more. For the average person with “normal” skin this may be a great option, but if you have dry combination skin I’d say save your money.

Application wise, it smeared. That’s the only word that comes to mind when I would use my fingers. Maybe that’s where the problem is, but to me I think if you can’t dab some liquid highlighter and work it into your skin  without a problem, then it’s not for me. I didn’t really like the pump, because it’s hard to control how much comes out. I think something like a small jar or pen could have been better.

I’ll use the rest of it just to say I did, but I don’t see myself buying another.

2 thoughts on “Review: Josie Maran Argan Illuminizer

  1. hi,
    i love your blog..im just starting out and i really like fashion/lifestyle/beauty.
    i would love for you to check out my blog… at the moment i have only posted about GCSE’s but im getting their.
    thank you
    sareena xxx

    Like

Leave a Reply

