How To Control A Breakout

First, don’t panic and stay calm. After that you can create a strategy to prevent it from happening again. 

This post was inspired by the pimple on my forehead. I didn’t realize it, but there is an actual process that goes through my head when I break out.

Like many, I  start out wondering why this happened. However, I don’t wonder in a “why me?” way. I’ll take a moment and play back the tape. Why did I get this? Did I exfoliate and this was bought to the surface? Did I use something that didn’t agree with my skin? Was my skin too oily? Too dry? If you can narrow down why you got it can help prevent another breakout, as well as helping you to understand your skin better and see its patterns.

I believe you really can minimize a breakout. Once you see it forming or the slightest sign, nip it in the bud.

Use spot treatments. There’s nothing like applying just what you need to the specific area that needs it. I’d recommend something with a slightly stronger amount of benzoyl peroxide, salicylic acid or even sulfur.

Wash your face with something stronger. Go with something slightly stronger than you’d normally use. Most days I use a milky cleanser, but during the time I breakout I will use something that will help me out a little more.

Tone your face. This will rebalance the skin’s pH.

Keep your schedule the same. Don’t feel the need to scrub your face every hour to get rid of the breakout. If you wash your face twice a day, keep it like that. Going too harsh too fast will just give your face more to deal with.

Lighten up on cosmetics. You might feel like you want to cover up every square inch of your face, but it’s better if you hold back a bit. Usually I don’t skip wearing foundation when I breakout, but when I get home I make sure to take off my makeup. This gives everything time to breathe.

Pop it. Before you get the wrong idea, this isn’t an excuse to go popping all your pimples. There are some prerequisites to take into account. The pimple(s) must be ready. They must be at the point where just the slightest pressure will cause them to pop. You must sterilize your tools and hands. No picking or using dirty utensils.

*This gets a little graphic, but it’s the only way to describe that you’ve done it right. If you decide that your pimple is ready to go you’ll want to squeeze to the point of seeing blood or an oily substance, that’s when you know you’ve gotten everything out. Be gentle, you may need to take breaks in between. Afterwards put something to disinfect the area to prevent infection.

Some people say never to pop a pimple, that it extends the life of it, but I’ve found on a few occasions it shortens it. If I’m thorough, if can relieve the pain by popping it, if it was ready and I make sure it’s done in a way that’s sanitary, I don’t see anything wrong with it.

20160620_230307.jpg

What I’ve been using to keep breakouts under control.

*La Roche-Posay Effaclear Duo (Spot treatment)

*Skin Ceuticals Purifying Cleanser (stronger cleanser)

*Skin Ceuticals LHA Solution Toner &Blemish+ Age Solution Toner (I alternate between the two toners)

*Skin Ceuticals Blemish+Age Defense Serum (can be used as a spot treatment as well as its main use as a serum)

 

 

Leave a Reply

