How To: 90s Dark Lips

If you were born in the 90s like me, the last thing you probably thought would happen would be growing up and taking cues on makeup from then. I don’t really know if I even thought about what makeup would be like when I got older, but I kind of like this throwback. It’s simple and bold at the same time. If you’re not sure how to pair a dark brown shade of lipstick then keep reading.

I’ll be honest and say that it wasn’t until recently that I got on the bandwagon with this makeup trend. I didn’t want to go the whole Kylie Lip Kit route and the idea of getting a brown lip color didn’t excite me at all. It was almost like those colors you used to scan over because they were “boring.” Now I’d venture to say that those colors are interesting, they are deep and uncommon. It’s not the classic red, pink or nude. After experimenting I’ve come to realize two very key elements in being able to pull of this look:

  1. Choice of blush
  2. Keeping things matte

 

  • What you choose to put on your cheeks can either bring the look together or tear it apart. I don’t think I’ve come across a family of lip colors that require the amount of care as with these grungey browns. Keep it neutral. Keep it in the same group of earthy reds or terracotta you can also substitute the blush for a chocolatey brown bronzer. Now’s not the time for bright pinks.

 

  • Keeping the rest of your makeup matte is kind of a shortcut to making the look appear authentic. If you were embellish anywhere, use a little highlighter just on the cheekbones.

 

Thankfully matte lip glosses and creams exist, in my opinion these last really well and don’t dry your lips out as much as you might imagine.

Now it’s up to you! Go out and try it, you never know you might like it. There’s lots of inspiration from celebrities of past and present if you get stuck.

Some of my favorite looks :

Elaine-Benes-Blakc
image 
f4da29af666c3798f4d6ba90099a018f
image 
Drew Barrymore10
image

 

 

2 thoughts on “How To: 90s Dark Lips

Leave a Reply

