Review: Tarte Rainforest of the Sea Aquacealer Concealer

This is the concealer to my current favorite foundation.I had high hopes going in because of how much I love the Rainforest of the Sea Foundation. Did I get lucky enough to find exactly what I had been hoping for?

Well… the truth is half and half. I will say that Tarte did an excellent job of making the formula thick enough to be recognized as a concealer without losing its identity as being from the Rainforest of the Sea collection.

The coverage is amazing and it goes on like a dream. It’s smooth, hydrating (perfect for under the eyes) and looks natural. Sometimes concealers can be a little too strong, we get it, you want to cover up, but you also compromise the look of skin looking like skin. This is a great balance between being able to  conceal and still seeing the texture and look of your own skin.

The applicator is one of my favorite things about this product. It’s thick, kind of chunky and is able to hold a lot of concealer. This is ideal for when you are in a rush; with a lot of other concealers the applicator is quite thin, so you end up making many skinny lines. In one swipe or applying a dot or two I can have the entirety of my under eye area taken care of. It’s nice to have something in your routine that you don’t have to think about and this is one of those things. It doesn’t have to be precise and it goes so quickly it will feel like you skipped a step.

20161026_211126.png

All this is just peachy, but there is one thing I’ll mention about this that I wasn’t that excited about. The smell. It’s not even that it’s strong, which it is, it’s the nature of the smell. It comes off as something derived from chemicals. It reminds me of Wite-Out or something similar. I’m not sure what’s causing that smell and why it is present in the concealer and not the foundation, but it is not exactly pleasant.

I’m not sure if it’s the shape of the bottle or what, but it does seem like you get a better deal than with the skinnier tubes of concealer.

Bottom line:I like the performance, but not the smell. How important is the smell of something for you?

img_20161026_193936

Leave a Reply

