How To Celebrate A Birthday

I spent some time thinking how to properly phrase what I’m trying to say. This post is not exactly how to celebrate a birthday, I trust you know how to do that at this point. It’s more of how to celebrate your birthday and enjoy it. Recently it was my birthday and I was thinking that there are actually expectations of what your birthday should look like. I think we all have similar things come to mind when we think of a birthday. We’re all different people, different ages and live different places, we are unique, so why do we follow these guidelines of what to do on your birthday. After all it’s your day.

If I’ve gone too far already I’m not saying get rid of the birthday cake. I’m trying to get across to customize your birthday. You don’t need to do the typical birthday activities to get something out of it.

Every year I do something new, but certain things I keep on the “schedule.”

I do something I’ve been wanting to do for a while. We all have something we’ve been wanting to do for a long time. Maybe you’ve been craving to go on a road trip, or you’ve really been in the mood for a movie. Today’s the day to do that. In my case, I’ve been working almost everyday and it’s been a beautiful fall. All I wanted to do was spend time outside that day. I did and it was one of the most satisfying things I’ve wanted to do in a long time. I sat outside and went for a walk. By doing what you’ve been feeling like doing for a long time and allowing yourself to experience that is one of the best gifts you can give yourself.

I spend time alone and with people I love. You don’t need to be someone who likes alone time to appreciate a few moments with yourself after another year is completed. It can give you time to think back to everything you’ve accomplished as well as things you want to accomplish by the time you are there again next year. Spending time around people you love is really nice on a regular day, but your birthday is an opportunity to reconnect. I like to make it a time other people can enjoy, it’s an excuse to get out, get together and have fun.

I only do things that make me feel good that day. Whatever your bad habits are that day try your best to keep away from them that day. If you bite your nails or spend too much time online, take a break that day to make yourself feel especially good.

Make your birthday memorable for one reason or another. You don’t need a big party or your name on a banner to feel special.

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “How To Celebrate A Birthday

Leave a Reply

